need some feedback on a Computrainer workout

tmctguer

Sep 9, 2003
To The Wise Power Workout Guru's:

i have been riding my Computrainer for a few months now and have found a workout that fits my time schedule during midweek, and challenges my present physical limits. it is the 10 mile Intermediate Course, for anyone who is familiar with Computrainers. this course features a few short 6% grades, some flats some 1% - 3% sections, and a few downhill sections which allow for some recovery after the short climbs.

here is what a typical 30 minute ride on that course produces in terms of time & watts:

4 min @ 241 watts
2 min @ 306 watts
3 min @ 217 watts
3 min @ 250 watts
2 min @ 295 watts (a simulated 6% grade)
3 min @ 214 watts
5 min @ 246 watts
4 min @ 212 watts
2 min @ 323 watts (a simulated 6% grade)
2 min @ 224 watts

the average watts for the 30 minute ride is 245 with a normalized power of 254 watts. i have ridden harder than the figures shown above a few times, but the wattages above seem to be typical for this specific Computrainer course.

as a point of reference, i have not done any textbook power tests recently, but my typical 20 min max power for the past month is btwn 246 - 270. Looking at my 28 day power distribution, my first big drop in power is at the 240 - 260 watts range. I think this puts my threshold power at about the 260 - 270 watt range. (feel free to correct me if I am off).

my question is whether i would get a better workout if I focused on a 30 minute "constant" power level similar to what a normal trainer would allow (the Ergo mode for Computrainer users) instead of the 30 minute workout with peaks and valleys of power output?

I ride 35 - 45 mile rides on weekends when I have more time. But i only have about 45 minutes a few days in the middle of the week to work out on my trainer.

any feedback would be appreciated.

I would recommend doing whatever keeps you motivated to ride indoors and use the NP as a guide to the overall level.