New to cycling, and looking to buy a bike

ballistic

Apr 9, 2010
I'm new to cycling, but I don't want to dive in with a lame bike. I'm looking for a nice, comfortable bike that'll last me several years. My mom and some relatives are really into biking, and one of my cousins competes. My original budget was $500-600, but nothing in that price range has really grabbed me. I'm 6'5'', so finding a frame for my height has been akin to finding a B&M store that carries size 14 shoes. I'm somewhat willing to spend up to $1000 for a really amazing bike.

At the Trek store today, I rode a 20" 7.6 FX. I really like the 7.6 FX, especially with its carbon fork. My mom has an '09 7.6 FX WSD. It's super smooth and shifts nicely, and it's reasonably lightweight. I then rode a 22.5" 7.5 FX, which wasn't as comfortable, but still a nice bike. It shifted hard, but it probably just needed tuned up after so many test rides.

Tomorrow I'm heading to a Cannondale reseller that's near my school. I'm interested in the Quick series, namely the 3, 4, and 5. I really like the Quick 3's grey color.

I've looked at some Specalized offerings, but I'm not too impressed. Also, I'm feeling that I want flat handlebars, even though no one has handlebars that really fit the large width of my hands; it'd be nice if I didn't have to always have shifters under my thumbs and such.

Any recommendations? Advice? Long-term experience with the 7.6 FX?

What are some good ways to haggle down prices or to get accessories thrown in?

fx 7.6 is a great bike if you want better components look at the Giant rapid 0 it cost less but it gives you more bang for your buck.

I did see the Rapid 0, and it seems very promising, but where does it cost less than the 7.6 FX?

don't go by internet pricing you can pick up the giant rapid 0 for around 1,100 shop around.

The Trek store has the 7.6 FX for $1099. But that only makes the Rapid 0 look better, yes?