New To Cycling

maccy

Apr 24, 2023
Hello all, I'm very very new to cycling. I currently use a used schwinn sidewinder (MTB) for road cycling and am looking at getting my first road bike soon. I'm looking at the vilano shadow 3.0. I know it's not the best bike stock. But my plan is to just test the waters of road biking. Possibly upgrading it down the line. Any tips on how to use the handlebars that go down? I have a tendency to not be able to balance as well on those as a standard side hold style for the arms. Should I upgrade with the mid-high tier shimano parts? Possibly switching it out for a 9 speed instead of having 2 cassettes?

Welcome!!

Don't get the Vilano. Buy something a little better. I assume the rear sprocket is freewheel. Freewheels are more expensive to upgrade to the finer drive sets because you'll be replacing the wheel hubs as well. You'll end spending at least the same amount you bought the Vilano just to upgrade the 7 speed freewheel to 9 speed freehub set.

Get something with 8 or 9 speed freehub cassette to begin with. Having freehub to start will make upgrades a lot easier and cheaper. Even if it's $200 more expensive than the Vilano, it will be worth it.

Tips to have good balance on a 'drop bar' handlebar on road bikes. Make sure the bike size is the right fit for you. The right fit makes a huge difference in control feel. And IMO since you're totally new to road bikes, I strongly recommend you get your first road bike from a LBS (Local bike shop), purchasing directly from the bike shop where the shop staff can assist you in person, can't get any better than that! Don't buy online your first ever road bike. An LBS can get the perfectly fitting size for you and even perform basic bike fitting for free.