Rode the Waverley Express

ghostgum

Aug 30, 2005
A couple of nights ago I got told about a group of cyclist who ride into the city from Mt Waverley. This morning I met up with them and joined the "Waverley Express". I was told they averaged 30km/h. Fortunately today the average was 28km/h, and I only just kept up. I wouldn't have achieved that a couple of weeks ago. The new Blade bike with skinny tyres helped as well (instead of the MTB). It was interesting riding in a group - I'm a beginner at this. They were well behaved, left good clearance as they passed pedestrians, verbally called out to people being passed but didn't use bells. Each time they slowed down for a hazard, they sped up faster than I could, so I kept ending up 10m off the back and having to pedal hard to catch up. I got better towards the end as I anticipated the acceleration. Journey was about 5 minutes faster than on my own, and about 2km/h faster than my best trip (averaged over my whole journey, not just the bit I rode with them). I'll take an easy ride home tonight.

Somebody at work asked me if they were taking turns at the front. I was working so hard at the back I didn't notice :)

careful with that one GG

riding in a group on shared paths can be frawt™ with danger. just ask Bleve :rolleyes:

'Commuter Olympics' can be very tempting but can go wrong really easy. their experience will hopefully amke up for this and communication is obviously the key. good to get a workout tho :D

lookin forward tocheckin out yer Blade8, btw...

flyingdutch wrote:
> careful with that one GG
>
> riding in a group on shared paths can be frawt™ with danger. just ask
> Bleve :rolleyes:

heh! I wasn't riding in a group, just a pair, and I was *trashed*
after training and not looking where I was going. I could blame low
sugar, exhaustion etc, but I was just not paying attention. *that's*
what gets you hurt!

blindly followng a wheel .. *doh*

Bleve said:
flyingdutch wrote:
> careful with that one GG
>