School project, designing product to market in UK?

Momentum09

Feb 4, 2008
Hello! I am a high school student in the United States. As part of a team marketing project, I must design and market a new product for a sport that is not popular in the U.S. Our team must introduce the new product to a foreign company.

We've chosen cycling as the sport and the UK as our market. Since our knowledge of bike design is limited, we've decided to focus our attention on safety gear and apparel.

The concept I had in mind was a type of hooded shirt with padded shoulders. It would be fitted but loose enough for comfort and for a layer of padding around the shoudlers in elbows. What do you think about this idea?

I read an article about a mall in Great Britain that banned hoodies because of the negative connotations with gangs, but I think what I have in mind is more functional. I think that the right type of padding could reduce the stress on the shoulders during falls or collisions. Do you think there is a market for this anywhere in the UK?

I'd appreciate any feedback or suggestions. We're still researching the market, so please let me know if there are any trends worth knowing about.

Thanks!

Lose the hood! It is hard to wear a helmet with a hood and the helmet should be the #2 saftey device that a rider uses. The #1 saftey device is his brain, which is protected by the #2 saftey device, the helmet.

Also, don't make it loose. Go to your local cycling shop and look at the gear that they have. None of it is loose because loose clothing is not aerodynamic.

There might be a small market for this in the bicycling community, but it is more likely to be popular among skateboarders and in-line skaters.

Trust a road cyclist to only consider one form of cycling :rolleyes: :D