Tires, tubes or not.

kyperman

Aug 27, 2004
The used Trek I just bought came with some tires that I want to replace, they have a presta valve, but appear to be all one unit, not a tire and a tube. I am a newbie, and I can't seem to find this type of tire on Nashbar, what is this type ot tire called?

kyperman said:
The used Trek I just bought came with some tires that I want to replace, they have a presta valve, but appear to be all one unit, not a tire and a tube. I am a newbie, and I can't seem to find this type of tire on Nashbar, what is this type ot tire called?
If the tire is glued onto the rim (my guess) you have sew ups.

Sew ups are a little lighter in weight than the much more commonly used clincher tires mostly because the flangeless rims are lighter. Most riders also report sew ups as having superior ride qualities. Downsides (besides price) are that punctured sew ups are much more difficult and time consuming to repair and a first class installation job onto a rim takes a couple of days.

If you want to replace the tires with more common ones your best bet is to ebay the wheels and tires and buy a new, conventional wheelset.

I am learning a lot here, thanks....what would be the reason to stick with tubular or go with something different? I got this bike pretty cheap, I don't care to stick a fortune into it really. I think I better learn how to install a tubular tire...

Do any of you guys use tubular?

kyperman said:
I don't care to stick a fortune into it really. I think I better learn how to install a tubular tire...

Do any of you guys use tubular?