Training help on 75 mile ride

theLazyBiker

Aug 29, 2013
Hello, I am new to road cycling, I got into it about 2 months ago. There is a 75 mile ride at the end of November, but I don't know if I would be able train enough to do it. I don't want to bite of way more than I can chew. I ride about 5 days a week, each ride is between 10 and 25 miles. My longest ride to date was 31 miles with about 1000ft elevation. Where I am now, I beleive I can keep a good pase for about 45 miles. Is 70 days enough time to train or should I sign up for the 42 mile ride they have the same day? Sorry if you saw this posted in the general topics also. I wasn't sure where the best place to post it would be.

Hell yeah. You can do the 75...assuming it isn't thru the Alps of Death Valley.

Toss in a few 35-50 mile cruises in the next few weeks and get a metric century in if you can. Maybe up your speed and intensity during a few of those 25-mile rides. You're doing OK over that 1000' I take it?

Don't get carried away with trying to race your way thru that 75-miler. Start out just doing a steady tempo pace and save some for the last 20-25 miles. Assuming you're in decent health and used to sitting on the bike for a couple hours at a stretch, you'll be fine. Remember to keep drinking and eating a little as you go. Stash a few energy gels in your jersey, take a camera and above all, have fun!

Quote: Originally Posted by theLazyBiker .

Hello,

I am new to road cycling, I got into it about 2 months ago. There is a 75 mile ride at the end of November, but I don't know if I would be able train enough to do it. I don't want to bite of way more than I can chew. I ride about 5 days a week, each ride is between 10 and 25 miles. My longest ride to date was 31 miles with about 1000ft elevation. Where I am now, I beleive I can keep a good pase for about 45 miles.

Is 70 days enough time to train or should I sign up for the 42 mile ride they have the same day?