training year round/ how to be ready for spring racing

wnowak06

Jun 27, 2005
i started riding a lot last summer, but then came my senior year of high school and i didnt get to cycle too much. this summer, though, i'm back on my back and doing about 250 miles a week. i'm off to college in chicago so i know the weather wont let me ride outside a lot in the coming months. i have a trainer so i can workout on that indoors.

i'm wondering though, just b/c i've never really trained year round, how this whole thing works. do i up my milage in the winter or lower it? these days, i spend several days a week doing intervals or hill repeat workouts, but in the winter do I continue these, or just ride miles at a steady pace?

how do you all train in the winter to be best prepared for the spring???

thanks a lot for any responses

I highly recommend Joe Friel's "The Cyclist's Training Bible" book. It takes you through a detailed process to schedule your whole training year. It takes a couple hours, but when you're done you'll know what you should do every day for the next season. Covers off-season too.

frenchyge has had a very successful racing season this year thanks to a winter training program (almost exclusively on the trainer). You might want to search some of his posts from about March to June of this year for his regimen.