What can I do to maintain FTP as CTL drops

MPCRUSHER

Aug 2, 2005
I'm kind of new to power meters and I am thoroughly enjoying training with one. I have a question which has probably been answered before but I have not seen it. Sorry if it is a lame one.

I live in Australia so it is summer here at the moment which obviously means longer days and more time to train after work. We race in the winter here so I am currently in a building phase and trying to improve ftp. My CTL is ramping nicely at around 7-8 points a week.

My concern is that when the racing season starts in about March, I will have to cut back on mileage because of the fewer hours available to train. This will mean a big drop in TSS, CTL and ATL sending my TSB into positive territory. As I understand it, I will probably peak for a short period before fitness starts to drop and my performance decays.

I don't want this to happen obviously and was thinking the solution will be to increase the intensity of each ride to L4 with the intention of keeping TSS as high as possible event though I wont be able to get to current TSS levels.

Will riding numerous L4 rides each week help to maintain ftp or will the drop in fitness mean that ultimately ftp will decay.

MPCRUSHER said:
....My concern is that when the racing season starts in about March, I will have to cut back on mileage because of the fewer hours available to train. This will mean a big drop in TSS, CTL and ATL sending my TSB into positive territory. As I understand it, I will probably peak for a short period before fitness starts to drop and my performance decays. ....
Yeah that's typical in terms of CTL dynamics and build vs. racing blocks.