What do you wear under your shorts?

lgrem

May 25, 2010
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to the biking world and I am wondering what type of undergarment does everyone wear under their biking shorts. When I wear regular underwear, I tend to get irritation after long rides. Is there any alternative, other than going "commando"?

What about during triathlons? If you swim and bike in the same shorts.......same problems.

Any suggestions?

The chamois is meant to be worn directly against your skin or you will get bunching of the wet material (under shorts) resulting in what you are experiencing.

In my humble opinion, any chamois that is only stitched in place will wear thin at the stitches and/or the stitching will start to break down over time. Some shorts use a bonding process. These seem to last much longer. For the price, I like Velowear.

Use a chamois creme to reduce friction, too. These are formulated to keep bacteria generation down and reduce rashes.

Anyway--that's been my experience.

Igrem is correct...but it depends on the person.

I personally ride with underwear on even though the correct way is not too. Why do I ride with underwear you scream, because I don't have an issue with it bunching up and chaffing me, thus in turn it keeps the chamois clean even though I wash my shorts after every ride. I also don't use any cream and never have because rash problems have never occurred to me. You may be thinking I wear underwear and don't use cream because I just ride around the block, your right if a block is 100 miles around!

It depends on the person whether or not they need to spend money on cream or if they prefer to use underwear. Don't spend money on cream if your not having any issues; wearing underwear is optional, try with and without to see which you prefer.

Definitely commando with the shorts, this has been asked and answered many times before.