What's a good heart rate target zone for daily cycling?

JamesAA

Aug 10, 2013
I'm pretty new to road biking. Totally love it! Sometimes When I work in the mid 150s to 160s bpms I'm usually ready to call it a day after as little as 45 min to and hour (my max is about 180 as I'm 40, and I cannot sustain much over 165 bpm for extended periods).

So what's a good HR zone to stay in and for how long should I be cycling? I did 1 hour earlier today where my HR was between 120 and no more than 150 (but most often around 135) and it was super easy. I could have gone much longer.

Also, what's a good recommended plan per week? An hour a day, 3-4 times a week good? My goal? To maximize my cycling fitness, and any positive health benefit that may come from training. I'm a 9-5er, sadly, but I still want to be the best cyclist I can be, and hopefully do some (non-pro) races and tackle more hills at some point in the future! :)

Guidelines are about the best you can get for "what's the right ...". Your fitness and individual physiology will dictate what the numbers will ultimately be.

I can give you some reference, having noted previously that our redlines are similar. Typically when I'm not slacking I ride solo 3-4 days per week and 1-2 days in a group ride.

My typical evening solo ride is 25-35 miles and covers four different routes. (I have a bailout ride of 18 miles if I know I don't have 60 minutes to ride.) Average total vert is between 1,000-1,500ft. When pushing it, I shoot for a time of 1:13 for the 25, which accounts for intersections and dealing with some traffic, etc. A more relaxed pace is 1:20 +/-. Similar pace for all rides in this distance group. When I have time, I extend solos up to 45-50 miles and usually drop to a moving average of 19mph+/-. My HR averages high 140's to mid 150's. I can pretty much go all day at this pace ... at least for 100 miles, as this is typically where I land when doing a particular century that I ride every year.