Maintenance Questions...

EvilGoodGuy

Jul 31, 2004
I have a few problems with my bike. While riding, my bike seems to have almost "no brakes." If I put my bike on a stand, the brakes are able to stop the wheels almost instantly. However, once I'm riding the bike down a hill, I can hold the rear brake down full without slowing the bike at all. The front seems to work alright (but not nearly as well as when the bike was new). When I put the bike on the stand, it appears that the rear and front wheels are somewhat out of true (very slightly). The brake pads on the front are almost new and the rear brake pads have some wear but well within limits. Why have I lost almost all of my braking power?

Second, a "liquid", I assume lubricant, is bubbling out of where the stem inserts into the fork? (correct terminology? I am a newbie when it comes to maintenance). What's going on here?

I have measured the chain and that needs to be replaced (I have about 7000km on it). Very dusty conditions in my area. Last time I talked to the LBS, he said 5000km was normal in this area.

I have made an appointment to take my bike into the LBS. I assume they'll be able to sort it out. However, my appointment isn't until Wednesday, I would like to ride Monday and Tuesday. Do you think I may further damage the bike with those two rides? Each will only be an hour or so (2 hours total).

EvilGoodGuy said: