1970's LeJuene Help?

zeeto

Feb 1, 2008
Hi,
Hope this is appropriate for this forum, I'm a newbie and could use an opinion or two.

Got my old LeJeune out of the airconditioned, finished basement where it has sat for 20+ yrs. Want to sell it and maybe start over, it's a little uncomfortable for me. Not a problem when I was younger but.... we won't talk about age.

Stats:
Reynolds 531 frame and forks
Rigidia Aluminum rims
Mafac Competition brakes
Stronglight crank
Simplex derailleurs
Pivo handlebars

Center to center 23.5"
Top tube 23"
27 x1.25 tires

All original except tires and possibly the Christophe clips and straps. Not sure. Cable casings are originals, lejeune red and not cracked. One paint chip, very few scratches. No rust except some surface rust on the unpainted parts of the forks. I imagine the proper product would take it off without much if any pitting.

Is there a market for this bike? Price estimates please? I'd like to know what the pros think before I put it on eBay. Hell, maybe I'll fix it up and ride it again!

Fix it up and ride it. There is no value in a bike from that era except for some collectors or someone who used to own one and wants to try to recapture his youth. Going price on eBay for more well known brands of that era is only $50 - $75.

I guess I have a slightly better memory about what French bikes were imported way-back-when (someone who lived in the same dorm had one), and you actually have a pretty nice bike -- I would say that there is a good chance (particularly, because of the condition) that you could get quite a lot for it as long as the right buyer(s) know about it [CLASSIC RENDEZVOUS]... I would certainly give you more than $75 for it ... because a FRENCH frame made with Reynolds 531 tubing is generally [but, not always] about as good a ride as you can ask for.