A top end bike is too expensive nowadays...

JTE83

Jan 28, 2004
High end bikes are just too expensive! I saw a Trek Madone 5.5 at the bike shop and for $4000 it only had Race Lite wheels. I thought that was bad but then when I looked at a $4200 Giant TCR (?) it had only Ksyrium Elite wheels.

And now components are so expensive too! I'm glad I'm not in the market for a high end bike anymore!

It's all relative. I am a Porsche mechanic and recently a customer was noticing the Felt bike that I rode to work.His first question was"how much does a bike like that cost?" I told him about $2500 dollars and his shocked reply was"you spent $2500 for a bike?" I quickly replied" you spent $100,000 for a car?"

I think they are too damned expensive too, but if you pay that much you plan on putting a lot of miles on it, and keeping it for a long time. I would hope that those higher prices reflect quality and durability. I would rather pay high and get a good bike that I'll actually like than go through 2 or 3 of which I grow tired.

Speeking of quality what's with those kiddy swirl paintjobs on Specialized bikes this year?