Am I doing too much in one day?

MLMercer

Nov 13, 2004
Hi guys,

I've been commuting to and from work for a few months now - its a 45 min ride in and about an hour home (the scenic way). I do this every Monday Wednesday and Friday.

Can anyone tell me if I am better off riding one way each day (in one day and and home the next) so that I ride more frequently - rather than riding every second day I would be riding every day... (This is doable as I have numberous people I can get lifts from.)

What would most benefit my fittness and fat burning?

Any opionions/advice greatly apprecaited. :eek:

M

2 hours a day isnt a huge amount.. especialy with a break at weekends.

depends on how fast your going also..

MLMercer said:
Hi guys,

I've been commuting to and from work for a few months now - its a 45 min ride in and about an hour home (the scenic way). I do this every Monday Wednesday and Friday.

Can anyone tell me if I am better off riding one way each day (in one day and and home the next) so that I ride more frequently - rather than riding every second day I would be riding every day... (This is doable as I have numberous people I can get lifts from.)

M
If memory serves, you will burn more calories by doing three 2 hour sessions than by doing six 1 hour sessions per week provided everything else is held constant. This is because it takes something like 20 minutes for your body to adjust to exercise and start burning them efficiently.

However, from a fitness/health perspective, I don't remember which provides the best overall gain. I'm inclined to say that the three 2 hour sessions would provide better gains in fitness also, but I'm not sure. Perhaps someone else could chime in?

The ideal is to cycle as much as you can but with no added weight, if possible. What I do is cycle to work with a heavy load of stuff I need which I lock up in a cupboard. On the way home, therefore, I have no baggage to carry and I try and get myself back home as soon as I can.