Are biking shoes really useful?

FenWoFon

Apr 8, 2016
I have been asking myself this question basically since I started riding, I know helmets are really important, gloves are as well, they protect your hands and stuff, glasses are somehow good, the biking dress is also important but, what is the deal with shoes? what do they do or help me to do? are they really relevant for biking properly?

Well if you have clipless, then yes of course.
Otherwise I say no it does not matter if you have biking specific shoes, many will disagree with me though. I mean as long as the shoes are decent and good for what kind of riding you are doing then you should be fine, I don't imagine slippers or dress shoes are going to make good bike footwear.
Some people swear they need certain shoes to perform, some don't.
It really depends on you man.

I say yes, and have reasons why.
Biking shoes (Mountain or road) have a very stiff sole, which directs all of the power from your foot into the pedal, giving you more power for the same effort, as well as tending to protect from tearing the tendons in the bottom of your foot. Add to that that the construction of cycling shoes helps to let heat escape, causing less sweating and therefore more comfort. The particular kind of biking shoe you need, however, depends entirely on the kind of riding you plan to do.

Performance road, or distance road: for this, you would need a road specific shoe as the sole is stiffer and the ventilation is better. They also tend to be lighter, and have more advanced fastening systems.

Performance mountain: For this you will need a mountain shoe, which will give you a walking surface, in case you need to carry your bike over obstacles that you cannot otherwise navigate.