Balance and Riding

Nibert

Jul 21, 2010
I am fairly new to riding a road bike. I just don’t seem to have the balance that others do when I ride. I am 6’5” about 265 lbs. I watch others and then can reach for a water bottle drink and seem effortless like they are perfectly balanced on the bike. Is this something that just comes with riding? I need to have my bike fitted so this may be whats wrong as well I am just curious. I also need to work on riding w/ no hands but don’t want to wreck my expensive bike so I don’t know what to do for that either.

I would recommend getting fit for your bike as it will make it much more comfortable for you.

Learning on-the-bike skills takes practice. Some people get it naturally while others take longer to learn. The most important thing to do is relax. If you tense up your arms, it'll make your handlebars really twitchy and your bike will go places you don't want it to go. Relax your arms and your bike will ride in a straight line. After a while, you'll realize that it's easier to ride in a straight line while riding no-handed because your arms aren't in the way.

There aren't really any intermediate steps to learning these skills. It's just like learning how to ride a bike originally - most people pedal too slowly and they fall down, but when they pedal faster than they want to they realize that they've learned how to ride. Same thing goes with riding no handed - you have to lean back and put the weight of your body on the rear wheel, which lends stability to the bike. You just have to go for it.

That is helpful. I just want to make sure i am not missing something. My size probably plays in to it as well, being overweight certainly has me out of balance naturally. I did my first century and one of the guys was stretching while riding and doing some things that would have killed me. I realized that if I could have rode w/ no hands it would have been a nice break for my hands.