Buying from BikesDirect

hopheadhippy

Jan 31, 2015
Hey all, I'm new to this and looking to make a new purchase. After a lot of research I have read pros and cons of both buying online and at my local shop. I can't seem to find anything at a local shop anywhere near the deals i am seeing online. Wondering if their is any real problem with buying online and if anyone can recommend a better deal for the price and build quality (though I know it's low end it is still quality entry level stuff from what Ive read) than this... http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/fantom29_sport_xiii.htm I welcome any and all advice. Thanks in advance.

If you simply type "bikesdirect" in the search window at the top of the page, you will find at least a dozen threads dealing with the ins and outs and upsides and downsides of dealing with BikesDirect.

For your convenience, I will repeat my mantra on this vendor.

The MSRPs listed are BS. They generally refer to the MSRPs of comparably equipped bikes from top rate vendors like Trek and Specialized, which they are not. Also, those top rated bikes are usually selling 5-8 percent below MSRP. Take MSRP with a grain of salt. The frame designs are somewhat dated, the finish is perfunctory, and there is scrimping in the parts spec, usually where less experienced buyers are not likely to see it.