cleaning your bike

matt_ttu

Apr 7, 2003
I've finally got a real bike, a Trek 1000, I know it's not the best thing from Trek but its mine and much better than the cheap little Huffy that I had fixed up and actually went on a metric century on. But being as my Trek 1000 is the most bueatiful thing I own I want to keep it in the best shape possible. What are the best things to use to clean an Aluminum frame? I'm a poor college student so what are some cheap things to use as cleaners?

One Aussie magazine said for the drive train - get a soft bristled paint brush (for painting walls, not canvases!) and brush with turps. The brush gets the turps nicely into the grooves. Spray the loosened gunk off with a hose, and wipe down with a clean rag. Don't spray into parts that will get water-logged!

For the rest, just use a rag/cloth, and some warm soapy water and mild detergent such as dishwashing detergent in a bucket.

You might want to take the wheels off one at a time to do the brakes and to get into nooks and crannies.

I've used the turps plenty of times over the last six months - no long term problems. It's quick and easy, and gets the grease off easier than citrus degreaser. I haven't heard of any reason not to. Anyone got any objections to turps?

Cheers
Ben

Did my bikes last night. This is the routine (it does take some time):

1. Clean the drivetrain (chain, der., cluster, et al.) with engine degreaser. This is a dirty job, try to do it outside. I don't use turps as it has a slight oil base.
2. Take a strong detergent (I use Cleen Green) and spray it on the drivetrain that you have just cleaned.
3. Now spray the bike off with a hose, including the drivetrain (NOT high pressure). I don't spray my saddle, etc.
4. Wash the bike. I use the same stuff as I wash my car with, it protects the paint.
5. Rinse the bike.
6. Now leave the bike for about 20 minutes (not in the sun, you might loose some tubes :) )