College Student looking for a Coach

marquinhos

Oct 18, 2009
Hey all,

I've come to realize that it's rather hard to structure my workouts in a way to optimize my performance while not neglecting my school, work, family etc. I decided I want to go one step further and hire a coach who can give me feedback and orientation on how to use my time as effectively as possible.

I'm a college student at the University of Virginia, we do have a cycling team, but currently don't have a coach. I've been riding bikes for at least 5 years, but have a background in long-distance, slow pace, mountain biking. I started riding road bikes a couple years ago and got more into it last year. I trained rather consistently (probably 8-10h a week) last fall, but a crash in early January kept me from riding for a couple weeks and from riding confidently for at least a month. I got back into it and started racing as a Category C in early march. I hit the pole a few times, but didn't win any races.

This year I started to commit some more, I have been training on average 10 hours a week, working on my endurance and speed skills - as well integrating some tempo/LT in the mix. I've been hitting the gym and doing mostly squats and core strength exercises with 5 x 15 three times a week.

I'm somewhat confident that I'm doing some of the right things, but I have a few ambitious goals that need more than just "somewhat confident" to be achieved:

1) Do B category races and win at least 1/2. Road races are about 50 miles long with climbs between 1/3 miles that are climbed 3-4 times. Criteriums are 45 minutes long. Most races seem to have breakaways with smaller sprints. While racing Cs I could usually go with the breakaways, but rarely had the legs to sprint.