Complete newb here......

Carl Newman

Oct 9, 2019
Hi all,
Thanks for the add, , I havent cycled for 12 years due to a spinal injury, which is now fixed. I am MANY pounds heavier than I was and am looking to start exercising again...but not too much, too quickly. I need lots of tech help and advice as I bought an electric bike kit. Am I in the right place?
(Questions to follow if the answer is yes)
Regards
Carl

Hi,
And welcome.
This is mostly a human-powered bicycle site. You may find more knowledge and enthusiasm on an ebike-specific site.
But the regulars tend to be helpful and friendly, so go ahead.
Keep in mind though that fo realistic amounts of exercise, your eating habits will be FAR MORE important for weight loss.

I don't care if you have an E bike, but you do have to realize that everytime you go power you're not exercising you're just having fun and giving you an unconscious excuse to use the e to do all or most of the work for you, this is why I don't like e bikes because it makes it to convenient to be lazy and just push the button and go. I don't mean to sound rough with you, simply pointing out the disadvantage to trying to lose weight by exercise with an E bike. Now if you have some really steep hills where you live and you're unable to climb those unassisted well then ok, use the E function, BUT, at some point you will have to use less and less of the E power to climb those hills the more you ride to where you will eventually not need any E assist.