Complete newb needs road advice

Shoeship

May 21, 2007
Hello,

I am completely new to the world of biking (well, relatively - used to bike all the time as a kid) but determined to buy a bike, get the necessary equipment, and go for a month long trip through southern BC, starting in about two or three weeks.

I am reading up on bike maintenance, will be taking a course, sorting out other things - but basically what I'm wondering is: what kind of bike should I buy? As I want the bike to eventually be a commuter bike after this is all done, I don't want a road bike. And, seeing as how I don't want to bike 800 kilometres on a mountain bike, I think through elimination it needs to be a hybrid.

I know you can't suggest a specific bike (can you??) but what other sorts of considerations should I be thinking of? Can a hybrid ride comfortably on gravel roads? Should I be thinking about special tires? Am I insane?

Okay, thanks. Really, anything anyone wants to say will help me out.

Peace

Shoeship said:
Hello,

I am completely new to the world of biking (well, relatively - used to bike all the time as a kid) but determined to buy a bike, get the necessary equipment, and go for a month long trip through southern BC, starting in about two or three weeks.

... As I want the bike to eventually be a commuter bike after this is all done, I don't want a road bike. And, seeing as how I don't want to bike 800 kilometres on a mountain bike, I think through elimination it needs to be a hybrid.

I know you can't suggest a specific bike (can you??) but what other sorts of considerations should I be thinking of? Can a hybrid ride comfortably on gravel roads? Should I be thinking about special tires? Am I insane?

Okay, thanks. Really, anything anyone wants to say will help me out.

Peace