Creaky bottom bracket?

cjw66

Oct 2, 2006
Hi, I'm pretty new to road riding. I just got a new road bike (assembled at my LBS) and took it out for a couple of shakedown spins over the weekend. Everything was pretty smooth but I noticed that when I got out of the saddle and really stomped on the pedals for a sharp incline or short sprint I heard a creaky noise coming from the bottom bracket area. Any idea what this might indicate and/or how I might correct it?

Thanks for any advice!
-Chris

p.s. On the first ride the pedals (Look compatible) were making squeaky noises but a little WD40 cleared that up. So it's not the pedals.

cjw66 said:
Hi, I'm pretty new to road riding. I just got a new road bike (assembled at my LBS) and took it out for a couple of shakedown spins over the weekend. Everything was pretty smooth but I noticed that when I got out of the saddle and really stomped on the pedals for a sharp incline or short sprint I heard a creaky noise coming from the bottom bracket area. Any idea what this might indicate and/or how I might correct it?

Thanks for any advice!
-Chris

p.s. On the first ride the pedals (Look compatible) were making squeaky noises but a little WD40 cleared that up. So it's not the pedals.
I'd take it right back to the LBS and have them fix it. Could be the BB or crank arms weren't properly assembled or torqued. Either way, it will take specialized tools and knowledge to find and fix the creaking.

Any decent LBS will cover all adjustments and repairs like this one; you shouldn't have to mess around with a new bike.

Its not a big deal. Bottom brackets usually loosen up on a new bike. It does seem a bit quick to get creaking though. Take it by the LBS that assembled it and they should be willing to take a look at it for you. It should only need retightening

Check: BB, crank rings bolts, crank bolts, pedals. Often times you think a noise is coming from a place it isn't.

capwater said: