Getting better at Climbing out of the saddle

ridiculous

Apr 6, 2006
I have a question concerning climbing out of the saddle. I have read in many books, etc. that natural climbers tend to excel at climbing out of the saddle...that they almost dance on the pedals. I see my favorite cyclists like Tom Danielson and other climbers getting out of the saddle a lot on climbs and stay out of the saddle for minutes at a time. I am a lightweight, small rider as well and I tend to do pretty well on the climbs...however, for some reason, I find myself climbing seated most of the time pushing a cadence of 75-80 rpms and with most of the physical strain coming from leg fatigue (not cardio)...is this the right way to go first of all? And as for climbing out of the saddle...I feel like I am not very good at it. My legs seem to start burning pretty bad after 10-15 seconds of it and I end up going back to being seated...sometimes, on steep climbs, my speed doesn't even change when I stand. How do I work on building up greater tolerance for climbing out of the saddle and what is proper technique anyways for climbing out of the saddle? I already do a ton of threshold work and I really do feel like I have developed a solid tolerance for latic acid in my legs...but climbing out of the saddle for me (while I would like to be good at it and be able to do it for long periods of time like pro climbers) toasts my legs quickly.

I wish someone would answer this because it's pertinent to me as well.

--Steve

ridiculous said: