Getting new bike, need help!

cmonan

Apr 26, 2010
Hello I am currently browsing the market for new road bikes and was hoping for some insight from some more experienced riders. There are about three that I am looking at, but the price cap is around $2600, so if there is a better one for around that price please don't hesitate to suggest it to this buyer :)

My goals: I have been riding for about 2 years, and currently ride a dinosaur, my dad's late 80s Cannondale. I consider myself a novice, but it's only because I don't have any races under my belt yet, but plan to start. I also might be doing some sprint triathlons, but I think I'd be better fit on a road bike. I ride often and need a new bike really bad.

Choices: Giant TCR Advanced, Gary Fisher Cronus, and Felt AR5 or F4(not first choice, but a bike is an investment, so considering...)

I would be very grateful for input, anyone who has riden, owned, or just plain knows :)

Thanks again!

cmonan said:
Choices: Giant TCR Advanced, Gary Fisher Cronus, and Felt AR5 or F4(not first choice, but a bike is an investment, so considering...)
What do you mean by "a bike is an investment?"

These are all fine bikes. The position on the TCR and F4, with their shorter head tubes, is a little more aggressive. Gary Fisher put a lot of work into the the handling of the Cronus. If you end up with that one, I'd be interested in your impressions after you've had it for a while. Which one to buy, though? The one that fits the best, the one that turns you on, the one that disappears under you.

oldbobcat said:

These are all fine bikes. The position on the TCR and F4, with their shorter head tubes, is a little more aggressive. Gary Fisher put a lot of work into the the handling of the Cronus. If you end up with that one, I'd be interested in your impressions after you've had it for a while. Which one to buy, though? The one that fits the best, the one that turns you on, the one that disappears under you.