Giant Escape drop bar question

Deeders1

Jan 26, 2013
I have a Giant Escape, Im new to riding, would that be ghetto to do a drop bar conversion. I find that riding the regular stock bars hurt my wrists after riding awhile. Dont really have alot of money right now to buy a good road bike. Any thoughts?

I think you should do to your bike whatever makes you happy. Screw everyone else.

danfoz said:
I think you should do to your bike whatever makes you happy. Screw everyone else.
Obviously you're referencing the Jewish ghettos in WWII Germany, Poland, and elsewhere, right? +1 to what Danfoz said. There's a large segment of the bicycling population that will critique your fit, your bike parts, and your bike based on their narrow minded views of what such things should look like. Screw those people, and do what makes you giggle. You can also avoid those people when riding. They put an ugly taint on cycling.

How much would something like that cost? Also any recommendations on comfortable seats?

$25-$50 for a new aluminum drop handlebar. $10 for a roll of bar wrap/tape.

It is possible to re-use your brake levers and shifters by mounting them on the flat portion of the handlebar. A bit ghetto, perhaps, but it's been done before. No big deal.

New brake levers that are made for drop bars might add another $25-$50 to the conversion and they will require a longer pair of brake cables ($10-$20). The addition of proper brake levers with hoods would give your hands one more riding position...one that most road riders might describe as the most often used and/or most comfortable.

Properly converted, it would look like it was built that way from the factory.

Originally Posted by Deeders1 .

I have a Giant Escape, Im new to riding, would that be ghetto to do a drop bar conversion. I find that riding the regular stock bars hurt my wrists after riding awhile. Dont really have alot of money right now to buy a good road bike. Any thoughts?