Help choosing intermediate road bike

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Joe

Hey everyone,

I've been a browser of these groups for quite sometime now, but this is my first time posting a
question. I have been road biking for a little over a year and am really beginning to get into
it. I am currently riding a converted mountain bike with slicks on it and I'm getting ready to
make the plunge into buying a road bike. I've decided that the bike I buy needs to be within the
$1000 price range and I must have at least 105 components and a carbon fork. I have test ridden
several bikes and have narrowed it down to a. If and when you decide to help me out, keep in
mind that I'm pretty much a newbie and may not be taking all things into consideration while
looking at these bikes, for one thing I know nothing about wheels aside from which ones I think
look cool.

Here are the bikes in consideration: 2001 Lemond Buenos Aires $999 (steel frame)
http://www.capitolcyclery.com/2001/lemond/buenos.htm

2002 Giant TCR2 $1000 (aluminum frame) http://www.giantbicycles.com/us/030.000.000/030.000.000.asp?-
lYear=2002&bikesection=8792&range=48&model=10467

2003 Felt F65 $1080 (aluminum frame) http://www.feltracing.com/f65.html

All of them rode really nicely and I could feel a bit of a difference in the Lemond due to the steel
frame, but not so much smoother that the other two seemed too bumpy, keep in mind I'm riding an old
mountain bike here. I also noticed that the aluminum ones did seem to feel a bit quicker I guess
since the steel seems to flex a bit more. So, they all have 105, and all have carbon forks. The
Lemond does not have a threadless headset, which from what I understand means that if I ever wanted
to upgrade my fork I'd need to buy more than just a new fork. Anyway, like I said I'm leaning
towards the Felt right now. I hope to hear from some of you, I'd really like some help.

Take care, Joe

[email protected] (Joe) wrote in news:[email protected]: