Hill Climbing & Gear Shifting

Bucknutschell

Aug 19, 2014
I am fairly new to cycling and I have been riding some pretty steep and long rolling hills lately. I like to get as much speed as possible going down the hill and then maintain that cadence for as long as I can in the drop bar position without looking up to the top of the hill I am climbing until I no longer can maintain the cadence. This helps me mentally because by the time I look up, I have climbed 2/3 or 3/4 of the hill and the remaining portion is far less daunting.

However, the problem is that when I finally lose cadence, I need to shift down and at that point, the torque (or force) on the chain is immense. It really puts a lot of stress on the chain, derailer and sprocket.

People have advised me to shift at the base of the hill but I do not want to lose the cadence and if I am hitting 40+ miles per hour after a long steep down hill, my legs cannot keep up in a lower gear. That momentum carries me through most of the hill with each pedal stroke propelling me farther up before I have to slowdown. Is there a technique to shift mid-hill before I hit the "have-to-shift" point but still get the benefit of the momentum and higher gear at least half way up the hill?

Reactions: hullhull10