If you could have 1 new bike component this year, what would it be

S

Spm073

Despite my promise to myself and my wife that my bike purchase last year would not be an every year
investment, im thinking about buying some new components to my bike. Id love some advice on
what/when/how to buy and what potential gains it would make. Im currently riding a run of the mill
Trek 1000 with pedal clips. Im a newbie sprint triathlete but do a few century bike races too I
weighing a few options:

Aerobars Clipless pedals/shoes lighter components new bike (if i had the money i'd do this and
include all of the above) taking my wife on a nice vacation to reward her for her support/patience.

So, any thoughts?

Patrick

Aerobars will make you faster, the fastest single thing you can put on a bike. But there aren't many
people left racing without clipless pedals, so you should probably upgrade these. Not only do they
improve power, but properly fitted are more comfortable and convenient.

You can get both of these items for around $100 used. I'll send you a pair of Syntace C2 clip on
aerobars in good shape for $50 plus shipping. I'll bet you can get the pedals on eBay or elsewhere
for a similar price. You didn't mention your shoe situation to go with the pedals.

Frame and component weight doesn't mean that much in triathlon, unless you are already very light
(male under 150 pounds) and riding hilly courses. Even then, aerodynamics far "outweigh" gravity
considerations. Given a choice between frame/components and aero wheels, go with the wheels--but
these are some of the most expensive upgrades you can buy.

With aerobars and pedals, you can still take that vacation.

"Spm073" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> Despite my promise to myself and my wife that my bike purchase last year
would
> not be an every year investment, im thinking about buying some new
components
> to my bike. Id love some advice on what/when/how to buy and what
potential