I'm new to road cycling but I need a bike

Newguysteve

Jan 11, 2010
Hi, Last summer I really got into biking. I would ride about 10 miles a day but the thing is I was using a mountian bike on the road. I really want to work my way into long distance riding so what type of bike would be best for me? I was looking at road bikes but I really don't like the handle bars. I was thinking I could get a hybrid bike. Are those good for long distance riding?

A traditional hybrid won't be very good for longer distances as they normally have front suspensions which will sap away a lot of the bikes efficiency. You may want to look into a flat bar road bike or a fitness style of bike (Trek FX series comes to mind). A flat bar road bike will be positioned more or less like a normal road bike but without the drop bar on it. A fitness bike will offer a slightly more upright riding position (although not as upright as a hybrid) and will normally have a wider tire on it (700x35 vs 700x23/25). The wider tire may help you feel more comfortable since you are coming from a mountain bike.

If you progress you will eventually want a traditional road bike, at least that is my guess.
Best thing to do is get to a bike shop and test ride different types of frames.
You will get a good idea of not only what type but what size you need.

ToffoIsMe said:
You may want to look into a flat bar road bike or a fitness style of bike (Trek FX series comes to mind).
+1 on the Trek FXs. Other companies have similar bikes, but Trek's is my favorite.

Newguysteve said:
Hi, Last summer I really got into biking. I would ride about 10 miles a day but the thing is I was using a mountian bike on the road. I really want to work my way into long distance riding so what type of bike would be best for me? I was looking at road bikes but I really don't like the handle bars. I was thinking I could get a hybrid bike. Are those good for long distance riding?