Lower Back Pain when Riding

maizemeanscorn

Aug 3, 2011
Hi There, New to the forums. I wanted to seek advice/recommendations about lower back pain. When cycling (especially on hills) I get a dull lower back pain. Did a 70 mile ride last week and my legs and body were fine, however the entire time my lower back was in pain. Any advice on where to start, in order to make a fix? I'm assuming it's probably something with the stem but I don't know where to start.

Well I'm no pro, but I couldn't help but chime in. I've actually only been riding for 4 or 5 months. I experienced the exact same thing recently. With the addition of some shoulder blade discomfort. After my 70 mile ride my legs and lungs wanted to keep going! but those two areas shut me down.

I changed out my stem for a longer 110 mm which helped some, but very little. I had my bike professionally fit which was great for other areas, but still the same two pains. I watched some youtube videos on bike fitting and came to my own conclusion. All in the posture......... Apparently I had a few bad habits in which I would hunch my back too much. Which in turn (I am assuming) was putting more pressure on my hands and bars than I needed= shoulder pain. The only way I was able to totally determine this was looking at myself while riding. I set up my bike on a cycle ops (that I never use) and positioned myself in front of a big mirror. It was pretty clear what I was doing wrong immediately. For some reason I didn't totally grasp the posture thing until I actually watched myself.

Anyway, I have done several rides (only 30 miles so far) and I do not have an ounce of pain like I used to. But I have to consciously keep correcting my bad habits while riding, until it becomes normal to me. But I feel amazing. And stronger believe it or not. With the corrected posture I can tell that I am using my glutes alot more. Which are the strongest muscles for riding. I can't believe the difference.