Maintaining power for *11* hours

kmavm

May 16, 2005
Seeing wilmar13's post of a non-race ride inspired me to post about my ride of the Davis Double Century yesterday (5/20/2006). I've never done a double century before; a training buddy at work more or less dared me to do it, so I jumped in without any specific training beyond my weekend long rides (which have never been longer than 110mi).

I weigh 64 kg, and estimate my FT as 270W. While typing out the units for the following stats, I realized that "TSS" has no widely accepted unit for measurement. I propose the "Coggan" (abbreviated "Cg") as a unit of training stress equivalent to 1% of a 1 hour maximal effort :).

11h15m56s
203.4 mi
6541 kJ
162 W avg power
182 W norm power
511 Cg (!)

I had no idea what a reasonable pace would be. The average power ended up in the middle of the lower half of L2, which is a good bit higher than I would have guessed. I would think that "all-day" power would be right near the L1/L2 border. While I was going hard, I definitely wasn't going as hard as possible. I'm curious what intensity factor could be sustainable during, say, a serious assault on the course record. Even more surprising, the ride had a somewhat big VI (1.13), and NP was well into the upper half of L2; I wouldn't have guessed an NP that high was achievable during an 11 hour ride.

Perhaps the frequent rest stops skew things? The 11 hours only counts ride time. I spent around 1:30 off the bike; all that eating, peeing, and filling of bottles really adds up.

As the TSS score predicts, I'm absolutely shattered today. I haven't experienced DOMS from an L2 effort in years. I'd forgotten it was possible. I'll definitely need 511 Coggans of recovery; I wonder, though, if I'll receive 511 Coggans of training effect. My suspicion is that there's some non-linearity in there when you pile on too much stress in one sitting.