need help navigating hills

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Shakkmaster

Hi. I'm a relatively novice rider, out of shape, and I need help. I usually ride about 4 miles to
the library along a kind of hilly area and I can't avoid them where I live. It takes about 15
minutes to get there and about 19 minutes to get back. I would like tips on how to make the trip
without having to get off the bike halfway up the hill and how to keep my butt from getting sore
along the ride. Thanks!

[email protected] (SHAKKmaster) wrote in news:[email protected]:

> Hi. I'm a relatively novice rider, out of shape, and I need help. I usually ride about 4 miles to
> the library along a kind of hilly area and I can't avoid them where I live. It takes about 15
> minutes to get there and about 19 minutes to get back. I would like tips on how to make the trip
> without having to get off the bike halfway up the hill and how to keep my butt from getting sore
> along the ride. Thanks!

1. get low gears so you can ride more slowly at a lower heart rate
2. ride more hours, which will get you in shape

On Wed, 25 Jun 2003 01:26:02 +0000, SHAKKmaster wrote:

> Hi. I'm a relatively novice rider, out of shape, and I need help. I usually ride about 4 miles to
> the library along a kind of hilly area and I can't avoid them where I live. It takes about 15
> minutes to get there and about 19 minutes to get back. I would like tips on how to make the trip
> without having to get off the bike halfway up the hill and how to keep my butt from getting sore

Ride more. It does get easier, both on the legs/lungs, and on the butt.

--

David L. Johnson

__o | "What am I on? I'm on my bike, six hours a day, busting my ass. _`\(,_ | What are you on?"
--Lance Armstrong (_)/ (_) |

"SHAKKmaster" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Hi. I'm a relatively novice rider, out of shape, and I need help. I
usually
> ride about 4 miles to the library along a kind of hilly area and I can't