New saddle? or adjustment period necessary?

KatieLeigh323

Feb 18, 2017
I just purchased my first "real" bicycle- excited! It's a fitness hybrid. After only 10 minutes of riding, I already had bruises on my butt in this short amount of time. Is this normal? (I'm a female).

The bruises are in a straight line on either side of my inner "gluteal sulcus" closer to my lady parts (kind of uncomfortable to show this area to a bike shop employee, I mean I literally had to spread my butt and lift it up and arch my back to find the bruises).

Can anyone tell me if this is an indicator of what is wrong with the position or size of my seat?

I'm not a saddle professional, but here's my 2 cents.
The saddles that come with bikes are typically junk and most people will replace them with something more appropriate. But, with that said there's definitely an adjustment period for your body to get used to cycling. When I started cycling a few years back, My bum was sore for days, weeks even..until my body got used to riding. It's more than just the saddle.. it's the muscles you're using that haven't been used, etc. There could definitely be a saddle height adjustment needed. I wouldn't rule that out, but I assume the shop where you purchased it would have fit you before you left? If not, just go back and ask them to fit you properly.
What can help is a proper pair of cycling shorts (with chamois pads), too. It's hard to say without seeing you on the bike, but typically when you pedal down to the ground, your leg should be almost fully extended (just a slight bend) while you're sitting on the seat. Most people check this by leaning the bike against a wall and hopping on and using the wall to brace themselves.
hopefully this helps.. and welcome to the world of cycling!

You've got two bony knobs on your pelvis usually called the sit bones. Its these, and the tissue over them that carries your weight when you sit on the saddle.