Newbie Knee Pain

petersta

Aug 6, 2003
Hi there,

I am relatively new to road riding, and one of the biggest challenges I have been adressing is trying to increase my pedalling cadence and spinning rather than hammering away on a ride.

To that end on a group ride this weekend I decided to stay in the small chain ring all the time (it was a gentle "recovery ride" 35 miles avg speed 18.5mph). A couple of hours after riding I started getting a pain behind my right knee. It feels like a muscle pull or a strain, it doesn't feel like a problem with the joint itself.

My question is do you think this was caused by trying to spin consistently at a higher than usual cadence, and if so is it best to rest and build up cadence speed more gently?

Thanks for any replies.

Peter

Originally posted by petersta
Hi there,

I am relatively new to road riding, and one of the biggest challenges I have been adressing is trying to increase my pedalling cadence and spinning rather than hammering away on a ride.

To that end on a group ride this weekend I decided to stay in the small chain ring all the time (it was a gentle "recovery ride" 35 miles avg speed 18.5mph). A couple of hours after riding I started getting a pain behind my right knee. It feels like a muscle pull or a strain, it doesn't feel like a problem with the joint itself.

My question is do you think this was caused by trying to spin consistently at a higher than usual cadence, and if so is it best to rest and build up cadence speed more gently?

Thanks for any replies.

Peter

most times when knee pain is in front of knee the seat is to low,
when it behind the knee its to high. when the lbs fit me to my bike
they raised my seat and right after that my legs behind knees
started hurting i rode like that for a week then lowered my seat pain went away, and it hurt more when my cadence was high.