Newbie - strengthening stomach muscles whilst cycling?

rugbyboy

May 2, 2005
Hi

I'm a newbie, so soz' if I've posted this in the wrong place.

Can anyone give any tips as to how I can turn my daily 20-mile commute into a regime where I can work on my flabby stomach muscles?

I've been cycling for nearly 4 years - mainly, commuting to and from work in London but also doing a bit of off-roading and touring. In that time, I've developed thighs that Jonah Lomu would be proud of and a heart-rate/lung capacity that could rival Lindford Christie. But the stomach area remains a very disappointing aspect of my physique! :eek:

I train regularly in a gym and, as my moniker suggests, play rugby. But so far, I've been unable to shed that middle tyre. I intend to have another go at getting rid of the flab by training in the gym and eating properly etc. However, I also see my cycle into work as another prize opportunity to banish that belly!

I suspect that my riding technique might be wrong - I can see that sitting with my upper body weight full-square on the saddle ain't gonna develop my stomach muscles. So what should I do instead? Any thoughts welcome!

Cheers

Chris

rugbyboy said:
Hi

Can anyone give any tips as to how I can turn my daily 20-mile commute into a regime where I can work on my flabby stomach muscles?

I've been cycling for nearly 4 years - mainly, commuting to and from work in London but also doing a bit of off-roading and touring. In that time, I've developed thighs that Jonah Lomu would be proud of and a heart-rate/lung capacity that could rival Lindford Christie. But the stomach area remains a very disappointing aspect of my physique! :eek:

I train regularly in a gym and, as my moniker suggests, play rugby. But so far, I've been unable to shed that middle tyre. I intend to have another go at getting rid of the flab by training in the gym and eating properly etc. However, I also see my cycle into work as another prize opportunity to banish that belly!