questions about Powertap SL

frenk

Jun 28, 2003
Hi all,

After almost two years of trying to justify a powermeter I finally decided that I don't need to justify it, so I got a powertap sl :D

The device is GREAT and so is cyclingpeaks (as a software engineer I say it's one of the most impressive sw I've seen lately).

I have a couple of questions. First, I usually download the data after the ride, then I press and hold the two buttons until "clear", then press mode.
So I start from zero on the next ride.
But what if I don't download the data for a couple of rides? Distance, time, etc. will continue from where it left the day before?
I'd like to reset everything but don't clear the memory.

Second question: yesterday I did some sprints and the cpu shows a max power of 1999 W :eek: . Now this would be very cool but I'm not sure this data is real...
Cyclingpeaks shows a max of 1254 W (5s and 10s is about 1150).
Is it possible that there was an interference at some point that caused the very high reading?
Or it is possible that for a very short amount of time --shorter than the recording interval (1s)-- I put out such a huge power?

Thanks,

Francesco

frenk said:
But what if I don't download the data for a couple of rides? Distance, time, etc. will continue from where it left the day before?
CP will recognise the download as separate ride files that you can then drag into the calendar on the day you did them. Just do it once and you will see - it works fine.
frenk said:
Second question: yesterday I did some sprints and the cpu shows a max power of 1999 W :eek: . Now this would be very cool but I'm not sure this data is real...
Is it possible that there was an interference at some point that caused the very high reading?
Most likely, I have seen this once, right before I started a ride. Not sure what caused it but I left it there caused it looked cool for an hour or so!

frenk said: