Rowing and cycling cross training

Spider1977

Jul 19, 2003
I'm one of those early 40's who is having a second go at getting into a "real" sport after spending a few years wasting time on a golf course. I've been rowing for about 3 years now after a 20 year break - and loving it. Today, inspired by the Tour de France on TV, I took delivery of a new road bike which I plan to use for cross training. I am more interested in touring than racing, but that may change. I live in a place where there are lots of hills, sealevel to 1000m asl in 15km.

I am reasonably fit (male 183cm, 83kg), but I need to push myself a bit harder.

There are some similarities between rowing and cycling - use of legs, maintenance of a good cadence etc.

Any suggestions for a good training regime on the bike, starting now? The rowing season starts in October, so my aim is be at my peak in mid November.

I currently do about 7 to 10km three times per week in the single scull.:)

If you've just started biking, you'll find it is a little different to rowing. The same leg muscles are used, but the dynamics are a little different. Typical rowing stroke rates varies from 18 - 30 strokes per minute, with relatively long rest in between. On the bike you'll be doing 85-110 per minute, for longer intervals, typically 1.5 - 3 hours as opposed to a typical 60-75 minute rowing training.

(Back when I rowed, I biked off season and it always took some build-up & training before I could train at full go)

I would start off on 1-1.5 hour rides at relatively low intensity (about 26-30km/h?) to get your muscles&body adjusted to the new movements.
Over the first month, increase this to 1,5-2 hours. The main goal should be to lengthen the amount of time you can train on the bike.
When you're comfy with 2 hour rides you could try to increase the intensity a bit, see if you can get your base speed up.