shoe/pedal question

jbpegasus

Apr 26, 2004
Hi all,
I'm new to cycling and just got my very first road bike. Right now I'm training for a triathlon. I was just wondering what type of shoes/pedals you would recommend for me just starting out. My boyfriend was at the bike shop, and the guy recommended getting mountain bike shoes even though it was for road bike becuase they have better traction on the bottom, and it is easier when you have to stop at red lights and stop signs. what do you think about this? any help would be greatly appreciated! thanks!
:)

The info you were given at the bike shop is always something to consider--mountain bike shoes are usually easier to walk in. If you think you will be walking a lot in your biking shoes, then this would be a good idea. Mountain bike shoes are often more comfortable for people starting out too, as well as many seasoned riders due to the fact that they are not as stiff as many road bike shoes. On the other hand, if you are serious about training for triathlons, I would strongly suggest a pair of road bike shoes. Road bike shoes are compatible with many pedal systems (not sure if all mountain bike shoes are compatible with three hole, Look style cleats or not), and are usually more efficient at transferring power to the pedals (not absolutely necessary to worry about at the beginner stage though).

I would suggest looking into a road bike shoe with triathlon in mind (usually only one or two straps, and definitely no laces--faster transition times) and a set of Look pedals. Look pedals are what many, many, many people use on their road bikes and most people find them to be good. If you have any knee problems, you may want to look into Speedplay pedals as I have heard they are very easy on the knees due to the large amount of free float they have. Hope this helps! Good luck!

Jeff

If completely new to cycling then MTB shoes are not a bad suggestion at all. I would even go as far as saying to couple them with MTB pedals.