Shoe/Pedal Question

Sooner93

May 6, 2010
I am relatively new to road cycling and have a question about shoes and pedals. When I purchased my current bike a few months ago, the salesman at my LBS recommended MTB pedals and shoes due to the ease of entry/exit of the pedal as well as the MTB shoe having a sole for walking. I purchased some Shimano MTB pedals and some Sidi Dominator shoes.

I love the shoes (very comfortable) and pedals so far. However, upon talking to another salesman recently, he mentioned that some riders develop "hot spots" during longer rides due to the MTB pedal being smaller compared to a road bike pedal. I do have very flat feet and currently use a Specialized arch support as well as wedges.

Should I begin to look into road pedals and shoes as I am riding longer now? I was considering some Look Keo pedals and Sidi road shoes, but wasn't sure if this was actually a valid concern. Thanks in advance for your great advice !!! I love reading these forums....

Shawn

Geez, unless you have money to burn, I would suggest that you wait until you actually develop some hot spots while riding rather than preemptively spending money on a problem which may never manifest itself.

The greater advantage of a Road shoe over a MTB shoe, particularly if they are made by the same manufacturer, is in the weight of the shoe -- the MTB shoe will inevitably weigh more because of the addition of the tread which is absent on a Road shoe.

Some brands of shoes have stiffer soles than others ... Shimano soles are stiffer than SIDI, but Shimano shoes weigh more because the soles are thicker.

BTW. My direct observation is that a size 45 SIDI is comparable to a size 44 Shimano ... which is to say that you want to be sure that you actually try the shoes on and not simply rely on the sizing which the manufacturer assigns to their shoes.