Sugino GP crankset - help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

arcascomp

Aug 16, 2003
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newbie on cycling repair etc, so please bear with me

I'm building up a commuting hack from an old road frame and I'm looking for a little advice on bottom bracket size to go with a Sugino GP triple crank (or chain) set.

I picked up this set cheaply from a mate, but it doesn't have any guide for BB sizes in a standard frame. The old BB was a shimano 68 x 113mm coupled to a Sora triple chainset (missing by the time I got the frame). Does anyone out there know the recommended width of bracket for this set?

Thanks in advance

Arcascomp.

Just install the chainset on the existing bottom bracket and see if it works. If the bottom bracket
is too narrow, then the inner chainring will rub the frame. If that is the case, you'll need a wider
bottom bracket. otherwise, use the existing bottom bracket.

Andres

>Hi all,
>
>I'm a bit of a newbie on cycling repair etc, so please bear with me
>
>I'm building up a commuting hack from an old road frame and I'm looking for a little advice on
>bottom bracket size to go with a Sugino GP triple crank (or chain) set.
>
>I picked up this set cheaply from a mate, but it doesn't have any guide for BB sizes in a standard
>frame. The old BB was a shimano 68 x 113mm coupled to a Sora triple chainset (missing by the time I
>got the frame). Does anyone out there know the recommended width of bracket for this set?
>
>Thanks in advance
>
>Arcascomp.
>
>
>
>--
>>--------------------------<
>Posted via cyclingforums.com http://www.cyclingforums.com
>
>
>

Arcascomp:

I use Sugino GT double and triple cranks on my rain bikes. Nice units. You can construct 34-40-52
tooth triple chainrings setups with the doubles by using long chainring bolts and spacers.

On the GT doubles I need a 120mm bottom bracket spindle. On the triples:
125mm. Shimano taper of course.