Unstructured ride to build ctl and improve ftp for casual racer

Samuellauw

Oct 16, 2012
I am 43 years old male about finishing 8 months training with some structured interval, this year is my second year of cycling with about 10-13hours/weeks training(time is not an issue for me)

I have been using powermeter since begining 2 years ago, but just started a structured training and using WKO+ software this year.

I find structure training is very stressfull mentally and I realize my motivation to train is much lower compared to last year.

I am thinking if my long term goal is improved FTP and endurance to enjoy long group ride, and casual long race(fast century), win some cat4 races, it will be more beneficial to use join more group ride(more pull at the front) and other unstructured ride, and using powermeter to log all the ride data to WKO+ plan to achieve higher CTL with 3 weeks "on" and 1 weeks "off" and adjust FTP once the best 60Minute NP exceed current FTP, my highest CTL this year is around 100, I think as long as it is not structured I can increase my CTL to 120.

Any Thought?

One thing about using WKO and the PMC is one can often see the results quickly and determine if it is a good direction or not.