Upgrading, the most bang for your buck?

82zman

Mar 27, 2006
I have a 2005 Trek 1000. I got it new for 470.00 early this spring as the new 2006 models were surfacing. I am starting to ride more and more and was wondering (since i am new to this sport, formely a competitve runner) where do I get the most bang for my buck when upgrading..Cranks? shifters Wheel Set etc.. From what I can tell and what I have read the frame is worthy of upgrade, especially at the price I got the bike brand new.

Those of you who know components well please chime in.

This is its current stock set up:

FRAMESET:
FRAME: Alpha SL Aluminum
FORK: Bontrager Carbon

WHEELS:
WHEELS: Alloy hubs; Alex rims
TIRES: Bontrager Select, 700x25c

DRIVETRAIN:
SHIFTERS: Shimano Sora
FRONT DERAILLEUR: Shimano 2203
REAR DERAILLEUR: Shimano Tiagra
CRANKSET: Bontrager Sport 52/42/30
CASSETTE: SRAM 850 12-26, 8 speed
PEDALS: Alloy/nylon road w/clips and straps

COMPONENTS:
SADDLE: Bontrager Race Lux
SEATPOST: Bontrager Sport
HANDLEBARS: Bontrager Sport, 26.0
STEM: Bontrager Select, 17 degree
HEADSET: Aheadset, semi-cartridge, sealed
BRAKESET: Alloy dual pivot w/Shimano Sora STI levers

The best bang for your buck is when you buy the best bike that you can afford without upgrading.

For the Trek 1000, get better wheels first, then a crank.

I think you'd be better off buying a whole new bike with the components you want.

It's never as cheap as you think to upgrade a base model bike.

You could always just wait for stuff to fail, then upgrade to 105 level...