Why do Lemond Renos/Tourmalet have sloping top tubes?

vegasbabee

Mar 20, 2005
I'm a novice hybrid bike owner who may add a road bike in the future for long commutes and a speed fix:p . I noticed that the alloy Lemonds have a sloping top tube ala a hybrid cycle. Why do most road bikes have a horizontal top tube? Benefits of each?:confused: :)

vegasbabee said:
I'm a novice hybrid bike owner who may add a road bike in the future for long commutes and a speed fix:p . I noticed that the alloy Lemonds have a sloping top tube ala a hybrid cycle. Why do most road bikes have a horizontal top tube? Benefits of each?:confused: :)
I'd suggest searching the forums for this, as the arguments are many. The sloping top tube (sometimes refered to as a "compact" geometry) is basically just another design option. Some claim that this makes the frame lighter and stiffer, due to the shorter top tube and the change in geometry.

It's a personal thing. Look at the pro peloton and you'll find a mix of teams using both.

Benefits are a longer steerer tube relative to seat tube length for higher handle bars and more stand over clearance...a slightly lighter and stiffer frame.
George

biker7 said:
...a slightly lighter and stiffer frame.
George
Beg to differ, there. Though the companies which embrace compact designs (like Giant and Specialized) push "lighter and stiffer," it simply can't be illustrated as a valid fact. To my knowledge, it never has been. All in all, it's better to look at compact geometry as just another means to an end--there's nothing wrong with compact frames, but they're not a magic revolution either.

Get one if you like the look, or if the angled top tube gives you a better standover-height option. You should also get one if you couldn't care less, and the compact option comes in a color you like more than the standard geometry option next to it.

biker7 said: