beginner questions

Jess1632

Mar 17, 2014
Hello, I am finally getting my first bike after a few years of hesitation, a big one being fear of getting hit by a car and dying:). It looks so fun though, and I am just ready to get out of my comfort zone. I used to ride dirt bikes so I figure I am capable of doing this too:). I have a question about safety gear. Do cyclist wear neck braces? I don't think I have ever noticed anyone wearing one, is there a reason for this? does it impede vision or dexterity in a way that would cause you to be more likely to get in a bad situation? And again, I am totally new at this and know pretty much nothing about the sport except for brief and broad research on bikes so, this very well could be a ridiculous question :). thanks.
tongue.png

Not many neck braces are going to allow for the neck movement you need to be in the drops let alone look behind you to look for traffic. I don't see anything with the flexibility needed to be useful at all in not getting injured. Get a helmet with MIPps and learn to ride smart don't run lights like a **** and you will be alright. Unless you are not then you still had fun getting dead, much better than a heart attack from cheetos and honey boo boo Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Okay, Thanks. I Figured that. And No, I would never ride through red lights and ride crazy:). I want to be safe as possible. When I test road the bike I bought today it was intimidating just crossing the street. I know I just need to get used to it and over time I will get more comfortable:).

Originally Posted by Jess1632
Okay, Thanks. I Figured that. And No, I would never ride through red lights and ride crazy:). I want to be safe as possible. When I test road the bike I bought today it was intimidating just crossing the street. I know I just need to get used to it and over time I will get more comfortable:).

Getting "too used to it" also causes accidents...