Bleeding Hayes HFX+ Disc Brakes: Quick pre-op question

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

Westie

Just making sure I'm on the right track here before I go and do something that I do or shouldn't
need to (like missing the adjustment screws or something!)

I'm new to bleeding Hayes disc brakes. I have had the factory assembled brakes/bike a couple or
three months now and the lever has gradually gone soft and is pulling back towards the grips. This
needs bleeding, doesn't it? The pads etc. are fine. Is it necessary to buy the Hayes Bleed Kit? I
don't know how much it is but is there a cheaper alternative? TIA
--
Westie

"Westie" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Just making sure I'm on the right track here before I go and do something that I do or shouldn't
> need to (like missing the adjustment screws or something!)
>
> I'm new to bleeding Hayes disc brakes. I have had the factory assembled brakes/bike a couple or
> three months now and the lever has gradually gone soft and is pulling back towards the grips. This
> needs bleeding, doesn't it? The pads etc. are fine. Is it necessary to buy the Hayes Bleed Kit? I
> don't know how much it is
but
> is there a cheaper alternative? TIA
> --
> Westie
>

have you tried adjusting (tightening) the allen screw under the lever. It's a small one and hard to
see. That will move the lever back out.

--
DTW .../\.../\.../\...

I've spent most of my money on mountain biking and windsurfing.
The rest I've just wasted.

Westie wrote:
> Just making sure I'm on the right track here before I go and do something that I do or shouldn't
>
> I'm new to bleeding Hayes disc brakes. I have had the factory assembled brakes/bike a couple or
> three months now and the lever has gradually gone soft and is pulling back towards the grips. This
> needs bleeding, doesn't it? The pads etc. are fine. Is it necessary to buy the Hayes Bleed Kit? I
> don't know how much it is but is there a cheaper alternative? TIA