entry lvl road bike - need help to choose

bennyj

Oct 15, 2007
ok i need some expert advice. Ive spent most of today(and yesterday) at work on the net researching, asking mates etc. I went into a few stores last weekend and had a look at some bikes too

Ive worked out that Shimano road groupsets go up as follows:
2200 -> Sora -> Tiagra -> 105 -> Ultegra -> DuraAce
(told you i was an absolute beginner)

im 6ft 1 (about 90kgs) and have looked at a few bike fitting guides and seems i need about a 59cm frame (just a rough guide). I have a budget of 1500, including accessiores etc but can strech it...just

after much too'ing and fro'ing heres what ive been recommended. I know how the quality of parts is ranked but i dont know which parts are the more important ones. Also as this is my 1st bike id like to buy locally and the cell shop is just around the corner from me (syd) whereas the torpedo7 is online. Basically i cant decide between these.

trek 1000 - was at all 3 shops for $999
http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/2007/archive/1000

Lemond etape - also $999
http://www.lemondbikes.com/bikes/road_racing/performance_aluminum/etape.php

Lear 7700 - $1100
http://www.learsport.com.au/view_product.php?product=Lear7700

Cell team road bike - $1199
http://www.cellbikes.com.au/p_58_CELL__TEAM_ROAD_BIKE__Shimano_105_for_a_Shimano_SORA_price

Ghost race 5000 T - $1299 + 80 pp
http://www.torpedo7.com.au/products/GHBRAN7R5

Personally its between the Ghost bike or the Cell bike but i really dont know which is better value for money.

Any opinions or help would be much appreciated as i really have no experience and the above is the result of 2 days of "research"

bennyj said:
ok i need some expert advice. Ive spent most of today(and yesterday) at work on the net researching, asking mates etc. I went into a few stores last weekend and had a look at some bikes too

Ive worked out that Shimano road groupsets go up as follows:
2200 -> Sora -> Tiagra -> 105 -> Ultegra -> DuraAce