Fat burning vs Running out of fuel

poky

Nov 27, 2005
I'm a newbie 59 year old male riding seriously for 2 years. i've dropped 60 lbs (230-170). now getting into longer distances (40-50 miles at 18+/- MPH) i'm running out of energy. i need to loose another 10-15lbs. how do you keep burning fat without running out of fuel??

Interesting question. I don't bonk on a ride, so I must be converting fat to energy.

What time of day do you ride? Before breakfast?

You could try doing a 90 Km (50mile) ride as follows:
- first hour, at about 80% of your normal pace i.e. back off and leave some in reserve
- in the last half-hour, see how hard you can go...
And don't ride the day before a 50-miler, or if you do, just do maybe a 20mile cruise without trying to break any records.

After the 1st hour of exercise, we need up to 300 Calories of quick energy to maintain blood glycogen. This is top-up fuel. The majority of your fuel source on endurance type rides will still be fat. So, a bagel and sports drink; baked potato; powerbar, etc. will keep you from bonking.

I wouldn't suggest programming bonk rides (like above) without eating. If you do get in trouble and bonk, get off the bike and rest for 10-20 minutes. You'll convert fat into carb and you'll be able to limp home at a reduced pace. This is not training however.

poky said:
I'm a newbie 59 year old male riding seriously for 2 years. i've dropped 60 lbs (230-170). now getting into longer distances (40-50 miles at 18+/- MPH) i'm running out of energy. i need to loose another 10-15lbs. how do you keep burning fat without running out of fuel??
What and how much are you eating and drinking while riding?

L