Feeling nostalgic

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Chilly

Back in the early 1960's I was a student nurse in Gloucester and had a girlfriend in London. Friday
night I would cycle to London, spend a weekend of debauchery, then ride back to Gloucester Sunday
afternoon. The afternoon coach from Victoria to Cheltenham went passed Hanger Lane (I think from
memory), as it was then on the A40, at 4:00 pm. I would tuck in behind it and slipstream it all the
way to Cheltenham. Of course coaches didn't go very fast in those days. She packed me in eventually
for a guy in London who had a boat

I lived in Hucclecote, although I can't remember if that's how it's spelt. Riding out of Gloucester
one had the choice of Coombe Hill or Birdlip Hill. In the evenings I would ride up Coombe Hill,
regularly overtaking the bus on the way up. The look on the pasengers faces was a picture. Then ride
down Birdlip like a banshee. Going down Birdlip, there is a long straight then a very sharp left
hand bend. Fortunately there was a drive on the bend which made a perfect escape route for when I
overcooked things and couldn't make the bend.

All this on a steel Raleigh, with steel wheels and handlebars, 27x1 1/4 tyres, cottered cranks and
five gears, purchased new from Currys in Gloucester for £15. I eventually had enough money to have a
ten speed conversion done. Still with steel cottered cranks and chainwheels, and a funny little
front changer that had a lever attached to twist to change gear.

That time in my youth on my bike gave me a love of cycling that even a couple of decades layoff
didn't eradicate. Now I have a half way decent bike and get totally knackered after ten miles.

I'm getting better though. I recover the use of my legs after two hours, not two days!

Bill Suffolk

In article <[email protected]>, one of infinite monkeys at the keyboard of
"Chilly" <[email protected]> wrote:
> Back in the early 1960's I was a student nurse in Gloucester and had a girlfriend in London.