Flat Tire At The Workplace

BobCochran

May 3, 2015
I finished work for the day and headed to my bicycle, which is in the employee parking garage, just inside the garage entrance. I get the bike into the exit ramp and go approximately 4 feet and suddenly the front tire goes flat.

It took me 4 hours to fix that flat tire. All of it thanks to my inexperience and lack of preparation.

I do carry tire levers, spare tubes, and a carbon dioxide inflator in my bag. I get the front wheel off the bike, and start using the tire levers to get the tire off the wheel. Eventually, I succeed. Then I remove the tube. I tuck a new tube in the tire, and after much fumbling and use of the levers, get the tire back onto the wheel. I felt ready to inflate the tire with carbon dioxide.

My inflation device is very old, something like 10 years, and I've never used it before. I play with it a little bit, trying to get gas to squirt out of the cartridge. Well, apparently, the cartridge is empty. I have one spare cartridge, also quite old. I unscrew the old, spent cartridge and screw on the spare. All the gas starts blasting out of the cartridge! The cartridge frosts over, and I drop it before my bare fingers freeze to it.

Now I had no way to inflate my tire.

I locked the bike and the flat tire up and have a word with the security guards. Then I took the bus home. Waiting for the bus plus the bus ride itself takes over an hour.

Once home, I hop in my car and go to my local bike shop and buy a new carbon dioxide inflator plus spare cartridges. Traffic congestion is horrible at that hour. It takes a long time to inch my car to the shop, and then head back to my office complex. It is also quite dark -- long after sunset when I arrive.

I load the bike inside my car. Thank you for telling me about that some weeks ago, CampyBob. The fit is very tight in my back seat, but yes, the bike fits in there. I bring it home and get everything inside.